The Lorain Sports Hall of Fame

Honoring the best in athletic achievement 

The Lorain Sports Hall of Fame was founded in December, 1969, to honor those Lorain residents whose names are synonymous with all that is the best in athletic achievement from the outstanding sports heritage in Lorain, the International City.

In The News…

LSHOF banquet makes news

Local newspapers highlighted the 51st LSHOF Enshrinement banquet and our new enshrinees.  

See what The Morning Journal said by clicking this link.

See coverage in The Chronicle-Telegram at this link.


Watch banquet on livestream 

The LSHOF enshrinement banquet on Sqaturday night Sept 4 will be live streamed on Lorain Schools TV20 YouTube channel.

Approximate time schedule:
5 p.m.- 6:30 Slideshow of all inductees on continuous loop
6:30 — 6:45 Short introductions
6:45 — 7:15 Dinner with Slideshow running again
7:15 — 7:30 Some special awards
7:30 — until finish — presentations and acceptance speeches of all inductees.


Posted Sept. 4, 2021



2021 Uland winners: Hermon, Carreras, Billings, Allen 

Pictured above, left to right, Mikiya Hermon of Lorain High School and Hiram Carreras of Clearview High School are the top winners of the J. Ed Uland Award scholarships for 2021 from the Lorain Sports Hall of Fame. Runner-up winners are Jamir Billings of Lorain High and Elizabeth Allen of Clearview. All four will receive scholarships. The Uland awards honor the outstanding male and female scholar-athletes from each high school in the city of Lorain. The selection process is based on demonstrated excellence in athletics, academics, leadership, and community service.  Each of these areas is considered of equal value and importance in making the selection. Congratulations and best wishes to the winners!
Posted June 24, 2021

LSHOF Golf Outing set for Aug. 1, sign up now!

Sign up now for the 2021 LSHOF Golf Outing to be held Aug. 1 at FoxCreek Golf Club in Lorain. Click on the images of the event brochure below for details. Proceeds benefit the work of the Lorain Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. 








Posted June 24, 2021


LSHOF banquet tickets available

Banquet tickets are now being made available for the 2021 LSHOF Enshrinement Banquet at German’s Villa. All tickets that were purchased for the banquet in 2020 are still being honored.
Banquet Date: Saturday, Sept 4th
Time: 5:00 Social Hour
6:30 Dinner
Tickets can be obtained from LSHOF Committee members:
Ron Feldkamp 440-244-3449 or 440-396-6849
Tom Bauer 440-213-8719
If you bought tickets for the 2020 banquet, which was postponed because of the pandemic, those tickets are good for the 2021 banquet.
Posted June 24, 2021

LSHOF enshrinement banquet “go” for Sept. 4

The long-awaited 2020/2021 LSHOF enshrinement banquet will be held on Saturday, Sept. 4, 2021, at German’s Villa in Vermilion. The banquet had been postponed because of the COVID pandemic requirements to limit social contact and avoid gathering. But now that vaccines will have been administered to the public by early summer and with gatherings being scheduled for after the Fourth of July, it’s finally time to get together and honor our new enshrinees.

Here’s the lineup of those being honored:

Regular Category
1. Brad Balmert, SAILBOAT RACING, Lorain HS (1977)

2. Anjeannette Chet Caffarel, VOLLEYBALL / BASKETBALL,
Lorain Catholic (1995) and John Carroll University

3. Mary Lou Rebman Poli, BOWLING, Lorain Catholic (1977)

Lorain HS (1982) and Bowling Green State University

5. Barry Rush, FOOTBALL / TRACK, Lorain High (1981)
and Illinois Valley Community College

6. Lisa Nickoloff Lindberg, BASKETBALL / VOLLEYBALL,
Admiral King (1992) and University of Mount Union

Senior Category
1. Otis Jenkins, TRACK / FOOTBALL, Clearview HS (1973)
and University of Louisville

2. Chris Gregg, FOOTBALL, Admiral King (1964) and
Bowling Green State University

Special Category
Lorain HS (1975) and Bowling Green State University

2. William Reagan, FOOTBALL COACHING,
Lorain Catholic (1970) and St. Joseph College

Team Category
1984 Admiral King Boys Tennis

Posted March 18, 2021


LSHOF mourns Ed Dohanos, area sports giant

The Lorain Sports Hall of Fame is mourning the death of Ed Dohanos, 95, on March 12, 2021.
For generations, Ed Dohanos was a well-known and respected figure on the Lorain County sports scene, as an athlete, in coaching and officiating. He was a three-time enshrinee in the Lorain Sports Hall of Fame, as well as being a past president (2008) and current board member of the LSHOF.

For more on Ed Dohanos and for his obituary, click here.

Posted March 16, 2021


Lebron Gladden dies, was two-time LSHOF enshrinee

The Lorain Sports Hall of Fame mourns Admiral King basketball great Lebron Gladden, who passed away Feb. 15, 2021. Gladden was 52 and resided in Otisco, Indiana.

He was first enshrined in the LSHOF in 2017 as an All-Ohio member of the 1985-86 Admiral King High School team which reached the state finals.

In 2018, Gladden again was enshrined, individually, recognizing his continued success at Ashland University where he was an NCAA Division II All-American with an Ashland career record 2,102 points. 

Gladden was a member of a great Lorain basketball family. His brothers Byron and Jamie were previously enshrined in the LSHOF. Funeral services for Lebron are to be in Indiana.

Posted February 19, 2001



Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17